## TOWN OF COLCHESTER ANNUAL BUDGET MEETING - May 3, 2016 MINUTES

Present: Art Shilosky, John Malsbenden, Rosemary Coyle, Denise Mizla, Dorothy Mrowka, Maggie Cosgrove, Don Kennedy, Ron Goldstein, Jeff Mathieu, Mary Tomasi, Mike Voiland, Brad Bernier, Renie Besaw, Rob Tarlov, James McNair, Tom Kane, Andreas Bisbikos, Rob Esteve, Walter Cox, James Paggioli, Gayle Furman and other citizens.

Meeting was called to order by Art Shilosky, First Selectman at 7:00 p.m.

Motion that John Malsbenden be Moderator was made by Dorothy Mrowka, seconded by Rosemary Coyle. MOTION CARRIED

Town Clerk, Gayle Furman, read the warning of the meeting.

Motion to move Item #1, to consider and act upon the 2016-2017 fiscal year budget of the Board of Selectman in the amount of \$14,389,712 as recommended by the Board of Finance, made by Rosemary Coyle, seconded by Don Kennedy.

Discussion: None

Moderator called for a voice vote on Item #1, SO VOTED AND CARRIED.

Motion to move Item #2, to consider and act upon the 2016-2017 fiscal year budget of the Board of Education in the amount of \$39,895,363 as recommended by the Board of Finance, made by Goldie Liverant, seconded by Steven Coyle.

Discussion: Steven Shuster asked the question as to how much the savings were collectively in the line items; Insurance, Heating oil, Transportation fuel, Electricity, Payroll and Salary from the 2015/2016 Board of Education budget and the 2016/2017 proposed Board of Education budget. Maggie Cosgrove answered that the savings discussed throughout the budget meetings pertained to Insurance, Heating oil, Diesel fuel, Electricity and Gasoline. Those savings total \$1,062,970.

Moderator called for a voice vote on Item #2, SO VOTED AND CARRIED.

Motion to move Item #3, to adjourn to Referendum vote on Tuesday May 5, 2015 between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. at Colchester Town Hall, made by Don Kennedy, seconded by Dorothy Mrowka. SO VOTED AND CARRIED.

Other Business: NONE

John Malsbenden resigned as Moderator at 7:08 p.m.

John Malsbenden resigned as Moderator at 7:08 p.m. Motion to adjourn made by Steven Coyle, seconded by Don Kennedy at 7:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Gayle Furman, Town Clerk

